Comics for Kids Award Nominees

The Comics for Kids Award / Prix de Bandes Dessinées pour Enfants recognizes creators who have produced works which capture the attention and fascination of young readers, and help to create a passion for life-long reading. Works considered for this award are comic books and graphic novels by Canadian creators that are targeted at readers 14 and under.

Congratulations to the 2009 Award Nominees and thanks to the C4K Award Nominating Committee:

– Jennifer Stewart, MA, B.Ed — High School teacher at The Linden School, owner of The Dragon comic shop in Guelph, ON

– Beth Alexander, B.Ed — Elementary teacher at The Linden School

– Diana Pai, B.Ed — High School teacher at St. Clements School

The Comics for Kids Award is administered by Robert Haines and sponsored by The Dragon

The Comics for Kids Award will be presented with the other Joe Shuster Awards on September 26, 2009.

Clayton Hanmer, CTON’s Super A-Maze-ing Year of Crazy Comics! (OwlKids)
Susan Hughes and Willow Dawson, No Girls Allowed (Kids Can Press)
Karl Kerschl and Serge Lapointe, Teen Titans: Year One (DC Comics) (Written by Amy Wolfram, USA)
Liam O’Donnell and Michael Deas, Ramp Rats – A Graphic Guide Adventure (Orca Publishing)
Paul Roux, Ariane et Nicolas Tome 5: Les tours de Babel (Éditions Les 400 Coups)
Chad Solomon, The Adventures of Rabbit and Bear Paws Vol. 2: The Voyageurs (Little Spirit Bear Productions) (Illustrated by Christopher Meyer, USA)
The Voyageurs
Kean Soo, Jellaby Book 1 (Hyperion)
Mariko Tamaki and Steve Rolston, Emiko Superstar (DC/Minx)
Emiko cover comp


2 thoughts on “Comics for Kids Award Nominees

Comments are closed.