2009 LuLu Award Nominations released – many Canadians nominated — go vote!

The Lulu Awards recognizes the the people and projects that helped to open eyes and minds to the amazing comic and cartooning work by and/or about women.

Voting for the Lulu Awards is open to the public.

To vote, send your selections (one from each category, including Hall of Fame) to Friends of Lulu along with your full name, by Monday, October 19. One ballot per person, please.

There are a lot of great Canadian talents listed on the ballot who are deserving of the attention the Lulu Awards bring.

The Nominees are below:

Kim Yale Award for Best New Talent

(must have first published work within the last three years)

Kate Beaton, Hark, A Vagrant

Liz Baillie, My Brain Hurts

Mariko Tamaki, Skim

Madeline Rosca, Hollow Fields

Kathryn Immonen, Hellcat

Sabrina Jones, Isadora Duncan: A Graphic Biography

Tracy White, Traced


Lulu of The Year

(awards the creator/s, book, or other project whole work best exemplifies Friends of Lulu’s mission)

Shaenon K. Garrity, Skin Horse

Lynda Barry, What It Is

Danielle Corsetto, Girls With Slingshots

Nate Powell, Swallow Me Whole

Mariko and Jillian Tamaki, Skim

Terry Moore, Echo

Jessica Abel, Life Sucks, Drawing Words and Writing Pictures


Woman of Distinction

(nominees work in the comic industry in non-creator roles such as editing, publishing, reporting, or retail)

Joanne Carter Siegel, widow of Superman co-creator Jerry Siegel

Gina Gagliano, Marketing Associate at First Second Books

Jackie Estrada, Eisner Committee & Exhibit A Press

Francoise Mouly, Editorial Director of Toon Books

Mimi Cruz, owner of Night Flight Comics


Leah Adezio Award For Best Kid-Friendly Work

Korgi, Christian Slade

Sardine in Outer Space, Emmanuel Guibert and Joann Sfar

Gary the Pirate, Scott Christian Sava

Rapunzel’s Revenge, Shannon, Dean & Nathan Hale)

Stinky, Eleanor Davis

Tiny Titans, Art Baltazar

Hereville, Barry Deutsch


The Female Cartoonists And Comic Book Writer’s Hall Of Fame

(formerly, The Female Cartoonists Hall Of Fame)

CLAMP for Chobits, Kobato, Cardcaptor Sakura, and many many more

Tove Jansson for Moomin

Natsuki Takaya for Fruits Basket

Gail Simone for Wonder Woman, Secret Six, Birds of Prey


Best Female Character

Monica Villarreal, Wapsi Square by Paul Taylor

Kimberly “Skim” Keiko Cameron, Skim by Mariko Tamaki and Jillian Tamaki

Rapunzel, Rapunzel’s Revenge by Shannon, Dean, and Nathan Hale

Barbara Thorson, I Kill Giants by Joe Kelly & JM Ken Niimura

Mirka, Hereville by Barry Deutsch

Melanie, Melody by Ilias Kyriazis

Julie Martin, Echo by Terry Moore


About the 2009 Lulu Awards:

This year’s nominations were chosen by a panel. Members of the panel include:

Brigid Alverson – writer, editor, columnist, and blogger
Jennifer Babcock – comic book historian and creator
Abby Denson – writer, cartoonist, and teacher
Cheryl Lynn Eaton – blogger and writer
Chris Eberle – comics retailer
Karen Green – academic librarian and columnist
Robert Randle – purchasing assistant manager, Diamond Distributors

Friends of Lulu is a national organization whose main purpose is to promote and encourage female readership and participation in the comic book industry. Among the goals of the organization are:

1. To increase female readership of comics

2. To promote the work of women in comics

3. To offer networking opportunities and general support to women in comics

4. To facilitate communication among women and men who share the organization’s purpose