Broken Pencil promotes the Gene Day Award nominees

The current issue of Broken Pencil magazine, a quarterly magazine focusing on zine culture, is running profiles of last years Gene Day Award nominees.

We are taking submissions for the 2010 Gene Day award.

Each nominee were given a full page in the magazine for artwork and a bio. (click the images for a larger view)

Jesse Jacobs – winner for Blue Winter, Shapes in the Snow.

Jesse Jacobs

Jordyn F. Bochon – finalist for The Day After V-Day.

Jordyn F. Bochon

C. Eric Peters – finalist for Peter the Pan.

C. Eric Peters

Dakota McFadzean – finalist for Hypocrite. Congratulations to Dakota for the recent acceptance to the Center for Cartoon Studies.

Dakota McFadzean

Miriam Libicki – finalist for jobnik!: an american girl’s adventures in the israeli army. Congratulations to Miriam, who is teaching Graphic Memoirs at Emily Carr University.

Miriam Libicki

Broken Pencil contains quite a bit of comic content. This particular issue has comic strips by Jason Turner, Matthew Daley, Ad Earle, Athena Currier, and Marina Kharkover; an excerpt of The Hipless Boy by Sully (Conundrum Press); reviews of Quarter-Life Crisis by Evan Munday (self published); Scott Pilgrim 5 by Bryan Lee O’Malley (Oni Press), and The Undertaking by Michael J. Hind (Conundrum Press); and a comic/zine review section, giving reviews of self published zines, including Entropy, part 3 by Aaron Costain. Plus Broken Pencil puts on the fantastic Canzine event, which places a real focus on self published comics and zines.