DeForge and Beaton win Ignatz Awards

The Ignatz Awards, named for the character in the classic comic strip Krazy Kat by George Herriman, is a festival prize that recognizes outstanding achievement in comics and cartooning. The ballot is created by a panel of five cartoonists and is then voted on by the attendees at the SPX event which was held this past weekend. This offers a unique reflection of the views the professionals and their fans. The award winners were announced at an awards gala hosted by cartoonist Dustin Harbin:

Outstanding Mini Comic
Ben Died of a Train, Box Brown

Outstanding Anthology or Collection
* I Will Bite You, Joseph Lambert

Outstanding Online Comic
* Hark! A Vagrant, Kate Beaton

Promising New Talent
* Darryl Ayo Brathwaite

Outstanding Story
* Browntown, Jaime Hernandez

Outstanding Series
* Everything Dies, Box Brown

Outstanding Comic
* Lose #3, Michael DeForge

Outstanding Graphic Novel
* Gaylord Phoenix, Edie Fake

Outstanding Artist
* Joseph Lambert, I Will Bite You