Canadian creators Staples, North and Cooke take home 2013 Harvey Awards

harveyawardwinnersOn Saturday, September 7, the winners of the 26th annual Harvey Awards were announced at the Baltimore Comic Con. Chief among the standouts was Image’s Saga – who won awards for Best Colorer, Best New Series, Best Continuing Series, Best Writer, Best Artist, and Best Single Issue for Saga #1.

KaBoom!’s Adventure Time took home two Harvey Awards for Best Original Graphic Publication for Younger Readers and writer Ryan North received a Special Award for Humor in Comics for the title.

The full list of winners, as chosen by comics professionals, include:

Todd Klein for Fables (DC Comics)

Fiona Staples
 for Saga (Image Comics)

Syndicated strip:
Joe Staton, Mike Curtis for Dick Tracy (Tribune Media Services)

Online Comics Work:
Battle Pug by Mike Norton

American Edition of Foreign Material:
Blacksad: A Silent Hell (Dark Horse)

Klaus Janson for Captain America (Marvel Comics)

New Series:
Saga  (Image)

New Talent:
Dennis Hopeless for Avengers Arena (Marvel Comics)

Best Original Graphic Publication for Younger Readers:
Adventure Time (KaBoom!)

Best Graphic Album Previously Published:
Alien: the Illustrated Story (Titan Comics)

Best Anthology:
Dark Horse Presents (Dark Horse)

Best Domestic Reprint Project:
Daredevil: Born Again Artists Edition by David Mazzucchelli (IDW Publishing)

Best Cover Artist: 
David Aja for Hawkeye

Best Biographical, Historical, or Journalistic Presentation:
Robot 6 blog by Comic Book Resources

Best Graphic Album, Original:
Richard Stark’s Parker: The Score by Darwyn Cooke (IDW Publishing)

Best Continuing or Limited Series:
Saga  (Image Comics)

Best Writer: 
Brian K. Vaughan, Saga

Best Artist: 
Fiona Staples, Saga

Best Cartoonist: 
Jaime Hernandez for Love and Rockets: New Stories (Fantagraphics)

Best Single Issue or Story:
Saga #1

Special Awards for Excellence in Presentation:
Building Stories by Chris Ware

Dick Giordano Hero Initiative Humanitarian of the Year Award: 
Paul Levitz

Special Award for Humor in Comics:
Ryan North for Adventure Time (KaBoom!)

Hero Initiative Lifetime Achievement Award:
Sal Buscema